thinking big: feminism, media, and pop culture

The Big Bad Bentley & The Bachelorette 

In Uncategorized on June 27, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Phoebe Bronstein

So tonight on The Bachelorette Ashley finally had the long overdue confrontation with Bentley. This is my first season of The Bachelorette and I am not a yell at the screen television viewer, and Bentley brought out my worst television behavior and I was sad to see his face again. Okay sometimes I yell at the screen when I watch Gossip Girl or Pretty Little Liars, but it is because I am so excited. However, Bentley. He is just so awful, perhaps even the most villainous of all villains (thanks for this way of putting it Sarah Todd). Granted the interwebs are now full of other Bentley haters, but I wanted to throw my hat (it’s cute and is newsboy style) in the blogging ring.

There are many problems with Bentley. Firstly he is manipulative and a jerk. Secondly, I am pretty sure that me and everyone I know (girls who like boys at least) have all dated him, or rather his type. He is the guy that won’t give you a straight answer, that really just wants to have sex with you, that makes you chase him, and that leaves you with the “dot dot dot.” He does this because he isn’t man enough to tell you he is just not that into you. Clearly, this stuff makes me angry. It is because of men like Bentley that all my girlfriends in college felt compelled to read He’s Just Not That Into You and why, I imagine, that very book became a Hollywood film (it was a bad film I might add and I never read the book).

Bentley ... he is not even that hot. Ugh.

I’m really glad Ashley finally gave him the boot and even mentioned that he should have called rather than flown all the way around the world to tell her that their relationship had come to a “period.” Yet another punctuation mark. One among the many obnoxious things about Bentley is his need to use punctuation marks to describe what he is saying about Ashley. But the point is, that Ashley’s pursuit of him and her feelings for him, which we saw he did no reciprocate, have made great drama and great television. This final fact upsets me and is why I yelled at the television and cringed every time Bentley was on the screen or each time Ashley talked about him.

Bentley is the bad boy you like in middle school, the one that pushes you into the locker, and the one many romantic comedies tell women that as adults we can reform, refine, bring out his true nature, and make him the man we wish him to be. But also, those same tropes tell us that he wants to be this person, but can only learn how with the help of a good woman. Because ladies, that is our job. Ridiculous.

I can’t say how glad I am that Bentley is off The Bachelorette and now no more screaming at the television (at least this season). As the season heads towards its conclusion and an inevitable proposal, I’m just rooting for the cute and sweet J.P.

P.S. I am going to be pissed if Bentley comes back next week. Seriously.

  1. i like ashley in stand-up-for-herself mode this episode with bentley. it’s a good look on her (and everyone).

  2. aaah also ben and constantine are the new front-runners in my heart based on their ridiculous dragon boat-racing approach

  3. […] [Previously: Phoebe wrote about The Big Bad Bentley & The Bachelorette] […]

  4. […] had to be this year’s Bentley. It would have been a let-down had there not been a snake in the grass. The thing is, if you […]

  5. […] favorite is the luxury brand consultant, who’s clearly being set up as this season’s Bentley/Courtney, but how many times we are expected to fall for this whole “here for the wrong […]

Leave a Reply

