thinking big: feminism, media, and pop culture

Girls Like Giants Presents: Our 2011 Preferences (Phoebe)

In Uncategorized on December 19, 2011 at 7:45 am
Phoebe Bronstein

My 2011 top 5 media hodgepodge:

1) My #1 spot is devoted to some of my favorite things written by women bloggers this year about the media. So including:

This wonderful piece from theadbared by minh-ha t. pham.

This post from Heart, Mind, and Seoul on talking about race.

Also, perhaps at my number one for sheer ridiculousness = Lady Gaga’s Thanksgiving Special.

2) Beyonce at the VMAs and her pregnancy reveal after an amazing performance of “Love on Top.” Plus Jay Z’s amazing and awesome reaction. Need I say more?

3) Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” video AND Glee‘s “Rumor Has It” mash-up. I just love the “Rolling in the Deep” video as I think she is beautiful and the video is also beautiful and heart-breaking but also the hard beat makes it so powerful. And the recent Glee mash-up of “Rumor Has It/Someone Like You” featuring Mercedes and Santana just blew my mind. They are just so good!

4) Pretty Little Liars (season 2). I just love this show and it keeps me on the edge of my seat, which is one of my favorite things in a TV show. And CW’s new teen show, Secret Circle, might come in second for the my number 4 slot. I just can’t get enough of supernatural and mystery teen shows.

5) The bad-ass ladies of the last Harry Potter. I was pleasantly surprised in the last Harry Potter as I watched Hermione and Luna and Molly Weasley and McGonagall and Ginny be amazing and empowered and forces to be reckoned with. And now I await the lady-powered Hunger Games with baited breath.

  1. Thanks, in particular, for the two posts about race. Very interesting and certainly open to further discussion.

Leave a Reply

